Welcome to the website of novelist Jane LeCompte. Her writing focuses on women negotiating the pitfalls of culture and on how ancient mythic patterns manifest in our lives.

In addition under the pen name Jane Ashford, she has written more than twenty romances. Jane has also taught literature and writing, and headed a corporate communications department.

Books by Jane

Moon Passage 1989/01

Read the New York Times review of Moon Passage

Sistren 2006/03

Lost Time (in progress)

Comments on Sistren

"Compassionately written story of spiritual rebirth."
-- Kirkus Discoveries

One reviewer says, "Buy this book. Give yourself an uninterrupted evening to read it."


Comments on Moon Passage

Also published in Italy, Germany and France; optioned by Hearst Entertainment.

"A sublimely written and deeply satisfying first novel."
-- Los Angeles Times Book Review

"In the tradition of Virginia Woolf, Katharine Anne Porter and, more recently, Alice Walker, Jane LeCompte presents an intimate tale of one woman's self-discovery"
-- Boston Herald

"In an age of change, when women have been engaged in examining and redefining their relations - with kith and kin and myth - Jane LeCompte has written a subtle first novel that brillantly evokes that process." full review
-- NewYork Times Book Review

"[Jane LeCompte's] taut phrases are elaborated with the patience and brightness of a goldsmith."
-- Associated Press

"Moon Passage is a first novel of unusual lyric beauty and warmth."
-- Washington Post

Books by Jane LeCompte

book

Sistren

"In the tradition of Virginia Woolf, Katharine Anne Porter and, more recently, Alice Walker, Jane LeCompte presents an intimate tale of one woman's self-discovery"
-- Boston Herald

 

Moon Passage

Moon Passage

"IN an age of change, when women have been engaged in examining and redefining their relations - with kith and kin and myth - Jane LeCompte has written a subtle first novel that brilliantly evokes that process." - NYT Review